Search

The PBS Streaming User: Who are they?



Who are the people watching PBS content on Roku and other streaming devices?

How many of them are there? Are they members? How do they like it – and does it cannibalize their viewing over the air?

Those are the sorts of questions we’ve been asking ourselves (and many of you have asked us) since PBS Digital first launched apps for “over-the-top” streaming back in 2012.

We now have some fascinating answers.

Our PBS Digital Analytics team conducted a round of research this summer on our streaming-device viewers – the people watching PBS and local-station content on Roku, AppleTV and other OTT devices.

We’ve dropped the occasional slide from this research into discussions with stations over the past few weeks – at NETA, at the GM planning meetings and various affinity-group calls. Now we’re finally ready (translation: the schedule has calmed down enough) to allow us to walk station leaders through the findings.

Please join the fabulous Amy Sample, senior director of digital analytics, for a webinar: “The PBS Streaming User: Who are they?” on Thursday, Nov. 13, at 1:30 p.m. Eastern/ 12:30 p.m. Central / 11:30 a.m. Mountain / 10:30 a.m. Pacific.

Based on these findings, we think the webinar will be of high interest for station general managers/chief operating officers; VPs/directors of development and membership; VPs/directors of interactive/digital media; and VPs/directors of content/production. Others are welcome to attend, of course.

We think this is one of the more interesting – and important – studies we’ve conducted in the last couple of years. Because of that, we want to maximize chances for folks to attend – so we’ve already scheduled an encore webinar for Thursday, Nov. 20, at 1:30 p.m. Eastern/ 12:30 p.m. Central / 11:30 a.m. Mountain / 10:30 a.m. Pacific. And if neither live session is workable in your schedule, we’ll have recorded versions available for viewing at your convenience.

We hope you can join us.


By Tom Davidson | Sr. Director | PBS Digital

No comments:

Post a Comment